Academic and Administrative Women of the Year

2017 - Administrative Woman of the Year
Doris Arrington, Dean of Student Services, Capital Community College
"As Dean of Student Services, Ms. Arrington advocates and champions positions and concerns that address students, their rights and all matters that have an impact on student success. Her understanding, sensitivity and concern for students and community development are of the highest level. While Dean Arrington is supportive of all students, she is particularly sensitive to the needs of our female students; the percentage of female students at Capital is 70 percent. I would note that she is a role model and mentor to students, staff and faculty at the college."
President Wilfredo Nieves, Capital Community College

2017 - Academic Woman of the Year
Dr. Shelley Phelen, Chair & Professor of Biology and Director, School of Natural & Behavioral Sciences and Mathematics, Fairfield University
“Dr. Phelan, a twice recipient of the Connecticut Women of Innovation Award, is active in the public square supporting and advocating for increasing the role of women in the STEM fields.  Her extensive and well-funded research always includes undergraduate students, the majority of whom were female, in her projects and publications.  In the competitive STEM fields, where the research constantly reminds us of the difficulties and barriers women encournter as research scientists, Dr. Phelan runs counter to those prevailing trends.  In her work and in her outreach activities, Dr. Phelan is, in fact, reversing those trends.”
Interim President Lynn Babington, Fairfield University

2014 - Administrative Woman of the Year
Caroline Koziatek, Vice President for Human Resources, University of New Haven
“Carol Koziatek is a highly regarded member of my administration who is respected throughout the campus community as a passionate and invaluable advocate for women.  I am confident that she will exceed all benchmarks for candidates being considered for the Distinguished Woman in Higher Education Leadership Award.”
President Steven H. Kaplan, University of New Haven

2014 - Academic Woman of the Year
Dr. Jocelyn M. Boryczka, Associate Professor of Politics, and Dr. Elizabeth A. Petrino, Associate Professor of English & American Literature, Fairfield University
“Fairfield University is proud to nominate jointly, Dr. Jocelyn Boryczyka, Associate Professor of Politics, and Dr. Elizabeth Petrino, Associate Professor of English...We put this dual nomination forward in special recognition of their national, award winning co-edited volume: Jesuit and Feminist Education:  At the Intersections of Teaching and Learning in the Twenty-First Century, (Fordham University Press, 2012). Both women live out Fairfield University’s mission as women for others who are passionately dedicated to academic excellence, deep scholarship on the contributions and role of women and commitment to mentoring junior faculty and women students to insure bright academic futures for the next generation.”
President Jeffrey P. von Arx, Fairfield University
2013 - Administrative Woman of the Year
Dr. Robbin Crabtree, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Fairfield University
"Fairfield University is very proud to nominate Dr. Robbin Crabtree, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences for the the Distinguished Woman in Higher Education Awards. She epitomizes our Jesuit mission as a woman for others with a deep respect for and love of the intellectual and transforming work that is Jesuit education."
President Jeffrey P. von Arx, Fairfield University
2013 - Academic Woman of the Year
Dr. Catherine Hoyser, Professor of English and Coordinator, Women's Studies, University of St. Joseph
"Dr. Hoyser's research and professional pursuits reflect her passion for promoting feminist perspectives. Her portfolio is replete with publications, presentation and original works that offer testimony to her constant and ongoing efforts."
President Pamela Trotman Reid, University of St. Joseph